Monumentos de Salamanca y Los Caballos

The weekend of September 24th, we stayed close to home for our weekly excursion.

Despite having lived in Salamanca now for four weeks, it was our first time to truly see the city and its most revered sights.

First, we toured the cathedral, which is something I have been hoping to do since I first saw it.

IMG_7989

It is one of those buildings that are so massive and beautiful, that it’s hard to take it in all at once. The fact that it is the backdrop of my all my classes here in Salamanca still amazes me.

Here are some of the shots I took throughout the tour:

Afterwards, we continued walking around the city and talking about various important statues and monuments, but one that is definitely worth mentioning is the La Rana de Salamanca.

Basically, at the university, there is La Puerta de Salamanca, which has gorgeous designs and carvings that capture the likeness of royalty and Catholic symbolism. However, it is also home to the infamous frog, hidden on top of a skull on the right side of the door.

The legend goes that if you spot the frog, you will ace all your exams. It took me awhile to see it for myself, and I might’ve cheated a little by google where it was.

I don’t have any pictures of my own, but here is one that I found on google. I’ll leave it up to you to find the frog for yourself.

rana-y-calavera-en-salamanca-1

Later in the day, we took a short trip to Velverde where our entire group got to ride horses for about an hour and a half. My horse was super sweet and named Simba, and despite it being hot, it was a really enjoyable time.

IMG_8022.JPG

Next weekend, we are taking a trip to Toro and Segovia, so stay tuned for that!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

